Kingston Tennis Club Annual General Meeting Minutes October 18th, 2012

45 Napier St., 7:30 pm

- 1. Agenda approved.
- 2. Minutes of KTC AGM September 22, 2011 approved.

3. Treasurer's report – Taco Meuter

- Club Revenues in 2012 have increased significantly to 184K (compare with 162K in 2011). KTC is on track to complete debt repayment by 2014.
- Membership level is up to 540 members (505 members in 2011). Revenues from Membership dues are 99K (compare with 87K in 2011).
- Tennis camps' popularity continues to grow. Revenues from camps are 59K (compared to 52K in 2011).
- Infrastructure and maintenance expenses in 2012 were \$13,662, down from \$31,340 in 2011.
- Net income estimated to be \$65K (up from \$33K in 2011).

4. Update to KTC bylaws – *Igor Kozin, Taco Meuter*

- The current KTC bylaws were written in the 1960s and are outdated. The executive proposed an updated version of KTC bylaws and there was a review process by members. The final proposal is published on the KTC website.
- Motion to accept new KTC bylaws Igor Kozin, seconded- Anees Karmally. Passed All for.

5. President's report – Igor Kozin

Summarized major achievements and activities of the 2012 season; outlined further directions for 2013; thanked all for volunteering time and effort.

6. Questions/Comments from the floor

- Fence damage by the storm. The City of Kingston refused to pay for damages caused by the tree growing on the City's property.
- Online booking. Many members expressed their frustration with the court booking website format due to the fact that they cannot see the names of other players who reserved court time. Motion: Show the names online by default; hiding players' names should be made optional. Moved –Neil Neasmith, seconded –Elena Personova. Passed. 1 opposed (Anees Karmally), 1 abstained (Erling Armson).

7. New Clubhouse Project – Igor Kozin, Taco Meuter

- A preliminary plan of the executive to build a new clubhouse on the grass area adjacent to court 3 was presented to members by Igor Kozin. His proposed motion was as follows:
 - 1. Demolish the existing clubhouse structure in order to construct an additional tennis court between Court 1 and Court 7;
 - 2. The new clubhouse is to be built within the space currently occupied by the front lawn adjacent to Court 3.

After an extensive discussion, the above motion was withdrawn as many members shared the opinion that major changes to club infrastructure must be discussed at a special meeting. In order to make a decision to proceed with this project, a greater participation of club members in this special meeting would also be highly desirable.

- The new motion moved by Ginette Blais: table the motion proposed by Igor Kozin (see points 1. and 2. above) at a special membership meeting to be held in November 2012; seconded by Gord Hunter carried.
- Additional motion proposed by Gord Hunter, seconded by Ginette Blais: call a special meeting on November 24th 2012 – carried.

8. Election of 2013 Executive

10 members have been nominated to serve in the KTC executive in 2013.

Motion to vote for the proposed list of board members – moved by Gill Turnbull, seconded by Christine Scott– carried, all for. The 2013 executive board members were elected as follows:

- Igor Kozin President
- Anees Karmally Vice-President
- Taco Meuter Treasurer and Website Editor
- Paula Loh Secretary and Newsletter Editor
- Nancy Dyck Advertising & Publicity
- Erling Armson Club Maintenance/Infrastructure
- Bud Nelson Membership and IT support
- Clair Tremblay Social Chair
- Gill Turnbull Immediate Past President
- Doug Bowie Member at large [Past President]

APPENDIX 1

Attended:

- 1. Erling Armson
- 2. Ginette Blais
- 3. Doug Bowie
- 4. Sunil Chaudhry
- 5. Thomas Choi
- 6. Elaine Davies
- 7. Derrick Dodgson
- 8. Rick Donaldson
- 9. Nancy Dyck
- 10. Sam Faris
- 11. Cata Fecior
- 12. Ashraf Girgrah
- 13. Gord Hunter
- 14. Anees Karmally
- 15. Igor Kozin
- 16. Ingrid Lacis
- 17. Paula Loh
- 18. Graham Lord
- 19. Taco Meuter
- 20. Karl Montgomery
- 21. Wren Montgomery
- 22. Neil Neasmith
- 23. Bud Nelson
- 24. Elena Personova
- 25. Winn MacPherson
- 26. Christine Scott
- 27. Claire Tremblay
- 28. Gill Turnbull